What You Need To Know

Frequently Asked Questions

Yes. To obtain the FRC℠ Designation, professionals must meet two of the three following requirements:

1) Five years of experience in financial services and/or insurance services relating to retirement planning plus compliance with all state license requirements.

2) Hold one of the following:

  • Series 6
  • Series 7
  • Series 24
  • Series 65
  • State Insurance License
  • Series 66

3) Hold one of the following:

  • Chartered Financial Consultant (ChFC)
  • Chartered Life Underwriter (CLU)
  • Certified Financial Planner (CFP)
  • Masters Degree in Business, Finance or Economics
  • Attorney’s License (JD)
  • Certified Public Accountant (CPA)

Both classroom and online training options are available. Advisors can choose one of the following:

Option 1: Online FRC℠ Training Course

  • 13 online Chapter Modules that students can complete at their own pace (approximately two weeks maximum)
  • Includes all materials, the FRC℠ Handbook, plus online practice exams and the final online exam
  • Total Cost: $1,000

Option 2: Two-Day Classroom Course in Indianapolis, Indiana

  • A two-day intensive course conducted by Brian Benham which provides the ability to ask questions and discuss cource material with other students
  • Includes all materials, the FRC℠ Handbook, plus online practice exams and the final online exam conducted through ProtorU, a web-based proctoring service
  • Includes hotel accommodations and meals 
  • Total Cost: $1,500

Note: A Special Enterprise Training Option for company groups is also available, cost provided upon request.

Online only. The FRC℠ Final Exam is an open-book exam conducted through the ProtorU web-based proctoring service that allows exam takers to complete their certification exam at home, 24/7.

To pass the FRC℠ Final Exam a grade of 70% is required.  

To maintain the Federal Retirement Consultant℠ Designation and the registered FRC℠ Certification in good standing, mandatory participation in our annual Continuous Education Program is required as a prerequisite to taking our Annual Renewal Exam. The total cost for renewal is $150.

Yes. We recognize that many advisors who currently hold a similar designation may be qualified to also hold the FRC℠ Designation and Certification.

The requirements to transfer from a similar designation include:

  • Submission of documented proof of previous designation for the previous year
  • Internal review and approval of previous designation conducted by FRC℠
  • Transfer fee of $150

We are in the process of qualifying the FRC℠ Course for Continuing Education (CE) credits. We will provide an update when the process is completed.